OOTD: Feeling race-y today on Melbourne Cup race day

Wayne Cooper dress on Melbourne Cup day (1)   Wayne Cooper dress on Melbourne Cup day (2)   Wayne Cooper dress on Melbourne Cup day (3)Wayne Cooper dress on Melbourne Cup day (4)    Wayne Cooper dress on Melbourne Cup day (5)

It is Melbourne Cup day today! Unfortunately, not being in Melbourne means I can’t attend the actual races itself, and it is not a public holiday here which means I have to go to work. However, in the spirit of the Melbourne Cup races, I decided I would wear something race-y to the office. So I went thru my wardrobe and felt that this was the best dress for the occasion. The dress is a breezy Wayne Cooper black and white chequered dress. As you can see it has a ‘tail’ (the back hem is longer and hangs lower than the front hem) and while I am usually not a fan of asymmetric hemmed dresses this actually looks great on me – I know you can’t tell from the photos but the ‘tail’ actually gives the dress a stylish flow as I am walking. It has a hint of an exposed back because of the way the dress is secured by tying it up at the back (the dress also has a side zip to help getting into and out of it), and the subtle exposed back is classy rather than slutty. From the photos you can see I have committed fashion faux pas (I know, I am not supposed to wear a bra with a dress like this…) and I am wearing a bra because I am going to the office rather than the races (which also meant no fascinators). The exposed back will not be suitable for work anyway, so the exposed back (and bra clasp) is all covered up by my favourite (and very versatile) black Oasis blazer. Paired with my Salvatore Ferragamo heels, I am office ready on Melbourne Cup race day!

Dress: Wayne Cooper
Heels: Salvatore Ferragamo
Blazer: Oasis

6 thoughts on “OOTD: Feeling race-y today on Melbourne Cup race day

Leave a Reply

