PART 4: UPDATE – A FIRST FOR 2017: ONLINE FASHION SHOPPING

So here I am again, writing a continuation and the final instalment of a first for 2017: online fashion shopping.

 

When I unpacked the shirt, the first thing I noticed was that unlike in the picture on Rhodes and Beckett website, there were no buttons or fasteners for the sleeves.

online shopping Rhodes&Beckett (1)

Comparing what I received (left) with that on their website (right) I thought to myself is that an oversight? Did they forget to send it? Was it sent along with the shirt but dropped out of the box?

online shopping Rhodes&Beckett (2)

I needed answers, so I emailed the Rhodes and Beckett team. They reply promptly, much to my surprise given the company is under receivership. Unfortunately, the reply stated ‘cufflinks are purchased separately and are shown for display purposes only.’

online shopping Rhodes&Beckett (4)

What? Isn’t that misleading advertising?

 

There was nothing on their website that said stated ‘cufflinks are purchased separately’ nor did they mention on check-out that picture on their website are for ‘display purposes only.’ I felt kinda cheated, to be exact.

 

When I actually measured the shirt the second thing I realised was that their sizing guide was way off. Yep. On their guide, I would have been maybe a size 10, but I ordered a size 8 and found that I could probably do even a 6. The inability to try on something like a clothing is really not going to give much joy in terms of fit.

 

The third thing I noticed was when I actually tried the shirt. It says it is a ‘satin’ and ‘fitted’ style: well it isn’t what I’d call satin because it is really more cotton than satin. And the term ‘fitted’ when used by Rhodes and Beckett is ‘loose’ when used by CUE: yes Rhodes and Beckett should try one some shirts from CUE to see what ‘fitted’ actually means.

 

You will already have noted that convenient as it may be, I was not a big fan of online shopping. I must admit I with my first online shopping experience, I still am not. Disappointment? Definitely. Maybe I should report this to ABC’s the Checkout: the TV program that ‘…tackles issues that face all of us when we open our wallets – identifying ways consumers are being taken advantage of, manipulated and ripped off…’

 

Xoxo

Natalie

One thought on “PART 4: UPDATE – A FIRST FOR 2017: ONLINE FASHION SHOPPING

Leave a Reply

